& Governance

A regional collective approach

West Creative Industries involves 14 partners in the Pays de la Loire French region: universities and schools, innovation agencies and publics bodies. Each partner undertakes to participate in the design, implementation and co-financing of the actions.


The programme is led by Université de Nantes in partnership with L’École de design Nantes Atlantique.


Compagnies are also involved in the programme through workgroups, research and innovation projects and events.


Four bodies to guide and execute the programme

The Scientific Directorship

The Scientific Directorship is responsible for strategic orientations and scientific policy

The Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is made up of a representative of each WCI partner and meets once a year to validate the assessment, future orientations and action plan for the following year

The Strategic Orientation Committee

Every two years, the Strategic Orientation Committee brings together national and international experts, who express their views on the orientations, strategy and roadmap:

Sabine Susstrunk : Professor at EPFL, Director of the Image and Visual Representation Laboratory since 1999, Director of the Digital Humanities Institute (DHI)

Pierre Musso : Professor of Information and Communication Sciences at the Université de Rennes 2 and Télécom ParisTech, Chair in Modélisations des imaginaires, innovation & création (DS, PSA, Orange and Ubisoft)

David Nahon : Director of the 3DEXPERIENCE Lab at Dassault Systèmes


The Executive Board

The Executive Board, which is responsible for WCI operational governance, meets once a month, bringing together management and advisors from each component:

  • Higher Education advisors: Yannick Prie (Université de Nantes), Elodie Jarrier (Université d’Angers)
  • Research / Experimentation advisors: Jean-François Petiot (École Centrale de Nantes), Marieke Zeegers (Creative Factory), Stéphane Doré (ESAD-TALM)
  • International advisor: Frédéric Degouzon (L’École de design

Some actions are conceived and supervised by specific working groups (e.g. Innovation in teaching actions)


Support team

Lucile Colombain, Operational Director

Julien Laflaquière, Innovation Programme Manager


Carole Pierre, Higher Education Programme Manager


Sarah Riou

Sarah Riou, Assistant